Castroneves’ Drive for Five in the spotlight among Indy Field

Eight “500” winners will compete in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” on May 29

Eight winners are among 33 drivers assigned to cars for the 106th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on Sunday, May 29 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with Helio Castroneves’ quest to become the first five-time winner of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” on the center stage during the month of May.

Four-time winner Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009, 2021), double winners Juan Pablo Montoya (2000, 2015) and Takuma Sato (2017, 2020), as well as single winners Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013 ), Alexander Rossi (2016), Will Power (2018) and Simon Pagenaud (2019) are the former winners who are aiming for another victory this year. The record for winners in one field is 10, set in 1992.

TO SEE: List of entries

Castroneves joined AJ Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears at motorsport’s most prestigious club – a four-time Indianapolis 500 winner – with his emotional victory on May 30, 2021 in the #06 AutoNation/Sirius XM-lined Honda. by Meyer Shank Racing. Castroneves, 47, stays with Meyer Shank this season for his five-year workout and would become the third-oldest winner in Indianapolis 500 history — behind Al Unser and Bobby Unser — with a win this year.

Brazilian native Castroneves is also trying to become the first repeat winner since achieving the feat with his first two wins, in 2001 and 2002. BorgWarner is offering Castroneves a $400,000 bonus this year if he can win. consecutive wins.

The field includes seven former INDYCAR SERIES champions: Dixon, Kanaan, Montoya, Josef Newgarden, reigning INDYCAR NTT SERIES champion Alex Palou, Pagenaud and Power.

Seven drivers will also compete for Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge Rookie of the Year, the biggest rookie crop since 2014, when there were also seven first starters. This year’s group includes the prestigious debut of seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson and Formula 1 veteran Romain Grosjean, as well as Devlin DeFrancesco, Callum Ilott, Kyle Kirkwood, Christian Lundgaard and David Malukas.

Andretti Autosport and Chip Ganassi Racing each entered five cars, the most of any team.

Practice opens Tuesday, May 17 and ends Friday, May 20. PPG presents Armed Forces Qualification is scheduled for Saturday, May 21 and Sunday, May 22, followed by a two-hour practice on Monday, May 23. The traditional two-hour final practice, again this year on Miller Lite Carb Day, will be held on Friday, May 27.

Live race day coverage begins on NBC, Telemundo Deportes on Universo and the INDYCAR Radio Network at 11 a.m. (ET), with the green flag set at 12:45 p.m.


Winners (8): Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Juan Pablo Montoya, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power, Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato

Beginners (7): Devlin DeFrancesco, Romain Grosjean, Callum Ilott, Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Kirkwood, Christian Lundgaard, David Malukas

American drivers (13): Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Conor Daly, Santino Ferrucci, Colton Herta, JR Hildebrand, Jimmie Johnson, Sage Karam, Kyle Kirkwood, David Malukas, Josef Newgarden, Graham Rahal, Alexander Rossi

International drivers (20, from 14 countries): Helio Castroneves, Devlin DeFrancesco, Scott Dixon, Marcus Ericsson, Romain Grosjean, Jack Harvey, Callum Ilott, Tony Kanaan, Dalton Kellett, Christian Lundgaard, Scott McLaughlin, Juan Pablo Montoya, Pato O’Ward, Simon Pagenaud, Alex Palou, Will Power , Felix Rosenqvist, Takuma Sato, Rinus Vee Kay, Stefan Wilson

Engines (33): Honda 17, Chevrolet 16 (all cars use Dallara chassis and Firestone tires)

Comments are closed.